RSS Feed
image depicting member smiling
Website URL : http://www.ucu.org.uk/7228
image depicting About UCU

Trustee, Officer and National Executive Committee elections 2015

Ballots for contested positions open on Monday 2 February and close at noon on Friday 27 February 2015.

Information : Information Ballot material is being dispatched on Monday 2 February by economy delivery.  This can take a few days to arrive. If you have not received the ballot material by Tuesday 10 February you should contact the union, email Catherine Wilkinson or Kay Metcalfe, providing full name, membership number, branch, and the full postal address at which the ballot paper should have been received.  Further information about the ballot period can be found in circular UCU/627  (.doc) file type icon UCU627 (.doc) [48kb].

Branches' attention is drawn to the guidance that the NEC has agreed in respect of Trustee, Officer and NEC elections, which refers to campaigning.  This can be found  (.pdf) file type icon here (.pdf) [56kb].

If you need any documents relating to elections to be sent to you in hard copy, including large print or other formats, or for further information about these elections, contact either Catherine Wilkinson or Kay Metcalfe at UCU's head office (tel: 020 7756 2500).


A list of nominations to UCU Trustee, Officer and National Executive Committee positions in 2015 can be found below. 

Election addresses can be found by clicking on candidates' names below.

Trustees (2 seats)

Kathy Taylor (Newcastle College)

Alan Whitaker (Activate Learning - City of Oxford College)

Randy Banks (University of Essex)

Andrew Morgan (Swansea University)

Angie McConnell (Open University)

Honorary Treasurer (1 seat - uncontested)

Dr Angela Roger (University of Dundee)

Geographically-elected members of the National Executive Committee

North West HE (2 seats)

Michael McKrell (University of Central Lancashire)

Chris Sheehy (University of Salford)

Roger M Walden (University of Manchester)

Jo McNeill (University of Liverpool)

North West FE (1 seat)

Carolyn Campbell (Trafford College)

Nina Doran (City of Liverpool College)

Midlands HE (2 seats - uncontested)

Alan J Ryan (De Montfort University)

Xanthe Whittaker (University of Leicester)

Midlands FE (2 seats)

Allister Mactaggart (Chesterfield College)

Simon Bruce-Jones (Telford College of Arts and Technology)

Rhiannon Lockley (Halesowen College)

Jacqueline D'Arcy (Warwickshire College)

South HE (3 seats - uncontested)

Pauline Collins (Open University)

Bruce Heil (Open University)

Dr Patricia McManus (University of Brighton Moulsecoomb)

South FE (2 seats - uncontested)

Steve Allen (City College Plymouth)

Mick Dawson (Brooklands College)

Wales FE (and vice president UCU Wales) (1 seat - uncontested)

Chris Jones (Neath Port Talbot College)


Honorary Secretary UCU Scotland (1 seat - uncontested)

Janice Aitken (University of Dundee)

President UCU Scotland (1 seat)

Carlo Morelli (University of Dundee)

Dr Douglas Chalmers (Glasgow Caledonian University)

UK-elected members HE (5 seats: 4 two-year vacancies; 1 casual vacancy)

Todd Bailey (Cardiff University)

Dr Jeff Fowler (University of Sunderland)

Carlo Morelli (University of Dundee)

Dr Marion Hersh (University of Glasgow)

Dave Anderson (University of Glasgow)

Eleni Michalopoulou (University of Liverpool)

Gordon Watson (University of Strathclyde)

Renee Prendergast (Queen's University Belfast)

Julia Charlton (Northumbria University)

UK-elected members FE (3 seats: 2 two-year vacancies to include at least one prison education; 1 casual vacancy)

Mandy Brown (Lambeth College)

Lyndsey Nicholson (South Cheshire College)

Michael Howard (The Manchester College Prisons Branch) [prison]

As the only candidate employed in prison education, Michael Howard will be declared elected.

Representatives of disabled members (2 seats; one HE member and one FE member to be elected to include at least one woman - uncontested)

Hilary Kurt (Derwentside College)[FE]

Emma-Jane Phillips (Northumbria University)[HE]

Representatives of LGBT members (2 seats; one HE and one FE member to be elected)

Mary Jennings (University of Cambridge) [HE]

Pura Ariza (Manchester Metropolitan University) [HE] 

Steve Boyce (A4e Prison Branch) [FE]

As the only candidate employed in further education, Steve Boyce will be declared elected to a seat for LGBT members.

Representatives of black members (2 seats - uncontested)

Dave Muritu (Sandwell College)

Seats for casually employed members (2 seats; one HE member and one FE member to be elected)

Eric Silverman (University of Southampton) [HE]

Amy Jowett (Hackney ACE) [FE]

Vicky Blake (University of Leeds) [HE]

Robert Clunas (Leeds City College) [FE]

Representative of members employed in land-based education (1 seat)

No nominations received

Election documents

Trustee elections: documents


Catherine Wilkinson, Head of Constitution & Committees (cwilkinson@ucu.org.uk)

Kay Metcalfe, Administrator, Constitution & Committees (kmetcalfe@ucu.org.uk)

UCU member services: Log in here to update your record online
About the fighting fund
For more information about anything on this page, please email the web editor
Link to go to top of page