Boycott Goldsmiths HE dispute: ASOS - support the ongoing action

Equality standing committees

20 November 2007

Fighting for equality in education and beyond.

The five equality standing committees are elected during the relevant annual meetings. The committees can send motions to national annual congress and sector conferences.

Black members' standing committee 2022-2023

  • Cynthia Akwei (Liverpool John Moores University)
  • Gargi Bhattacharyya (University of East London)
  • Kirsten Forkert (Birmingham City University) 
  • Kieran Hurrell (City College Plymouth)
  • Juliana Ojinnaka (Sheffield College) (Chair)
  • Victoria Showunmi (UCL - Institute of Education)
  • Dharminder Singh Chuhan (Sandwell College FHE)
  • Abdullah Yusuf (Dundee University)

Disabled members' standing committee 2022-2023

  • Jennifer Dods (Leeds Beckett University)
  • Ruth Fairclough (University of Wolverhampton) 
  • Marian Mayer (Bournemouth University) (Chair)
  • Themesa Neckles (University of Sheffield)
  • Bijan Parsia (University of Manchester) 
  • Pat Roche (Blackpool & Flyde College)
  • Andy Shaw (Warwickshire College)

LGBT+ members' standing committee 2022-2023

  • Jennie Appleyard (Leeds City College)
  • Gavin Brown (University of Leicester)
  • Martin Chivers (City, University of London)
  • Stephen Desmond (Solent University)
  • Anthony Drummond (Leeds Beckett University)
  • Peter Evans (New City College - Hackney)
  • Matilda Fitzmaurice (Durham University)
  • Kirsty Graham (University of St Andrews)
  • Bee Hughes (Liverpool John Moores University) (Chair)
  • Katie Nicoll Baines (University of Edinburgh)
  • Mark Pendleton (University of Sheffield)
  • Megan Povey (University of Leeds)

Migrant members' standing committee 2022-2023

  • Maria Chondrogianni (University of Westminster / Cavendish)
  • Fasil Kildane Dejene (University of Loughborough)
  • Laura Teresa Loyola-Hernandez (University of Leeds)
  • Robyn Orfitelli (University of Sheffield) (Chair)
  • Saleem Rashid (Sheffield College)
  • Eda Ulus (University of Glasgow)

Women members' standing committee 2022-2023

  • Pura Ariza (Manchester Metropolitan University) (Chair)
  • Emma Battell Lowman (University of Leicester)
  • Carolyn Campbell (Trafford College)
  • Laura Chuhan Campbell (Durham University)
  • Joanna de Groot (York University)
  • Joanne Edge (University of Manchester)
  • Matilda Fitzmaurice (Durham University)     
  • Ruth Holliday (University of Leeds)
  • Juliana Ojinnaka (Sheffield College)
  • Christina Paine (London Metropolitan University)
  • Pat Roche (Blackpool & Flyde College)
  • Saira Weiner (Liverpool John Moores University)
  • Stephanie Williams (Bath College)
Last updated: 17 December 2021