RespectFE ballot - GTVO banner wide RespectFE ballot - GTVO banner narrow Boycott Goldsmiths HE dispute: ASOS - support the ongoing action

'A rotten retirement' page icon

Email your VC about USS

17 February 2022

A new financial monitoring report from the USS trustee has confirmed that scheme assets have soared to over £88bn and that the deficit has shrunk by 85%. Perhaps most importantly, the trustee has also confirmed if a new valuation was conducted at this moment in time, benefits could be increased and/or contributions reduced. But time is running out to stop UUK's cuts coming into effect.

If your institution is one of the institutions involved in the dispute over the devastating 35% cuts to your hard-earned pensions, please email your VC/principal and urge them to make UUK change course.

Click on their email address below to open an email with some suggested text; or you can copy/paste the text from below. If you can, please personalise your email and forward any replies to campaigns@ucu.org.uk.


InstitutionHead of institution 
Aberdeen, The University ofProfessor George Boyneboyne@abdn.ac.uk
Aberystwyth UniversityProfessor Elizabeth TreasureVice-Chancellor@aber.ac.uk
Aston UniversityMs Saskia Hansenvc@aston.ac.uk
Bangor UniversityProfessor Iwan Davies FLSWb.nelson@bangor.ac.uk
Birkbeck, University of LondonProfessor David Latchmanmaster@bbk.ac.uk
Brunel UniversityProfessor Andrew Jonesvc@brunel.ac.uk
Cardiff UniversityProfessor Colin Riordanvco@cardiff.ac.uk
City, University of LondonProf. Anthony Finkelstein CBE FREng MAEA.Finkelstein@city.ac.uk
Courtauld Institute of ArtProfessor Deborah Swallowdeborah.swallow@courtauld.ac.uk
Cranfield UniversityProfessor Karen Holfordemma.butterwick@cranfield.ac.uk
Durham UniversityProfessor Karen O'Brienvice.chancellor@durham.ac.uk
East Anglia, University of (UEA)Professor David Richardsond.richardson@uea.ac.uk
Exeter, University ofProfessor Lisa Robertsvice-chancellor@exeter.ac.uk
Goldsmiths University, LondonProfessor Frances Cornerexecutiveoffice@gold.ac.uk
Heriot-Watt UniversityProfessor Richard Williams OBEprincipalsoffice@hw.ac.uk
Hull, University ofProfessor Susan Leavc@hull.ac.uk
Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine (ICSTM)Professor Alice P Gastpresident@imperial.ac.uk
Institute of Development Studies (IDS)Melissa Leach, Directorm.leach@ids.ac.uk
King's College LondonProfessor Shitij Kapurprincipal@kcl.ac.uk
Liverpool School of Tropical MedicineProfessor David LallooDavid.Lalloo@lstmed.ac.uk
London School of Economics and Political ScienceDame Minouche Shafikdirectorsoffice@lse.ac.uk
London School of Hygiene and Tropical MedicineProfessor Liam Smeethliam.smeeth@lshtm.ac.uk
Loughborough UniversityProfessor Nick Jenningsvc@lboro.ac.uk
Manchester, The University ofProfessor Dame Nancy Rothwellpresident@manchester.ac.uk
Newcastle UniversityProfessor Chris Daychris.day@ncl.ac.uk
Open University (OU)Professor Tim Blackmanvice-chancellor@open.ac.uk
Oxford, University ofProfessor Louise Richardsonvcweb@admin.ox.ac.uk
Queen Mary University of LondonProfessor Colin Baileyprincipal@qmul.ac.uk
Royal Holloway, University of LondonProfessor Paul Layzellprincipal@rhul.ac.uk
Royal Veterinary CollegeProfessor Stuart Reidprincipal@rvc.ac.uk
Ruskin CollegeProfessor Peter Johncommunications@uwl.ac.uk
Salford, University ofProfessor Helen MarshallVice-chancellor@salford.ac.uk
Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS)Professor Nicholas Owensnick.owens@sams.ac.uk
Senate House, University of LondonProfessor Wendy Thomson CBEvice-chancellor@london.ac.uk
Southampton, University ofProfessor Mark E Smithvice-chancellor@soton.ac.uk
St George's, University of LondonProfessor Jenny Highamprincipalpa@sgul.ac.uk
Suffolk, University ofProfessor Helen Langtonvice-chancellor@uos.ac.uk
Surrey, University ofProfessor G.Q. Max Luvice-chancellor@surrey.ac.uk
Swansea UniversityProfessor Paul Boylevc@swansea.ac.uk
The Queen's University of BelfastProfessor Ian Greervcsec@qub.ac.uk
The School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS)Professor Adam Habibdirector@soas.ac.uk
The University of BathProfessor Ian H Whitevc-pa@bath.ac.uk
The University of BirminghamProfessor Adam Tickellvc@bham.ac.uk
The University of BradfordProfessor Shirley Congdonm.kenyon2@bradford.ac.uk
The University of BristolProfessor Hugh Bradyvice-chancellor@bristol.ac.uk
The University of CambridgeProfessor Stephen J ToopeVCO.enquiries@admin.cam.ac.uk
The University of DundeeProfessor Iain Gillespieprincipal@dundee.ac.uk
The University of EdinburghProfessor Peter Mathiesonprincipal@ed.ac.uk
The University of EssexProfessor Anthony Forstervc@essex.ac.uk
The University of GlasgowProfessor Anton Muscatelli, FRSE AcSSprincipal@glasgow.ac.uk
The University of KeeleProfessor Trevor McMillant.j.mcmillan@keele.ac.uk
The University of KentProfessor Karen Coxvicechancellor@kent.ac.uk
The University of LancasterProfessor Andy Schofieldb.pilkington@lancaster.ac.uk
The University of LeedsProfessor Simone Buitendijk vice-chancellor@leeds.ac.uk
The University of LeicesterProfessor Nishan Canagarajahvc@leicester.ac.uk
The University of LiverpoolProfessor Janet BeerJ.P.Beer@liverpool.ac.uk
The University of NottinghamProfessor Shearer Westannemarie.cooper@nottingham.ac.uk
The University of ReadingProfessor Robert Van de Noortvc@reading.ac.uk
The University of SheffieldProfessor Koen Lambertsvc@sheffield.ac.uk
The University of St AndrewsProfessor Sally Mapstoneprincipal@st-andrews.ac.uk
The University of StirlingProfessor Sir Gerry McCormacprincipal@stir.ac.uk
The University of StrathclydeProfessor Sir Jim McDonaldj.mcdonald@strath.ac.uk
The University of SussexDavid MaguireDavid.Maguire@sussex.ac.uk
The University of YorkProfessor Charlie Jeffreyvc@york.ac.uk
University College London (UCL)Dr Michael Spence ACprovosts.office@ucl.ac.uk
University of Wales Trinity Saint DavidProfessor Medwin Hughesm.hughes@trinitysaintdavid.ac.uk
University of UlsterProfessor Paul BartholomewVice-Chancellor@ulster.ac.uk
Warwick, University ofProfessor Stuart Croftvc@warwick.ac.uk

 

Letter text:

Dear XXXXXX

I am writing and requesting that you urge your representatives Universities UK (UUK) to revoke their cuts to the Universities Superannuation Scheme (USS) in light of the recent USS financial monitoring report, and to instruct USS to implement UCU's proposals as the most sensible short-term solution ahead of a new valuation.

The strong financial position of the scheme, as reflected in the new FMP, demonstrates that you and other USS institutions will be paying out huge sums of money to redress a deficit that does not exist. Growth in the scheme's assets of £22bn, soaring from £66.5bn to £88.8bn, has outstripped growth of liabilities, meaning that required deficit recovery contributions now stand at 0%.  

If the cuts to guaranteed retirement income in USS come into force on Friday and are not reversed, they will not only entrench deep inequalities in our sector but threaten its future by leading to a mass exodus of staff.  

For many of us, a good pension was a saving grace in the face of constant decline in pay and working conditions. Sadly, I was therefore unsurprised that UCU's recent survey showed 60% of staff planning to leave the sector in the next five years over these cuts to our pensions.

Neither you nor any other institution in USS should be wasting money on a non-existent deficit. By pushing for UCU's proposals to be tabled and passed — as the best solution while the union and UUK work together to press for a sensible, moderately prudent valuation — you will be protecting the pension of me and my colleagues.  

And in helping to stop the devastation of our pensions, you will be protecting the future of your institution and UK higher education more widely.  

As a dedicated, hard-working employee, I am already profoundly dejected by the attacks on my pensions and pay. If UUK presses ahead with these cuts after they have been decisively shown to be completely unnecessary, it would be an unforgivable betrayal.  

Please do everything in your power to urgently pressure UUK to change course.

Yours sincerely, 

Last updated: 6 April 2022