UCU Democracy Commission

Congress 2018 agreed to set up a democracy commission to carry out a review of UCU's democratic structures and to bring recommendations to a special one-day congress. The commission is to be elected by and from branches, regional committees and devolved nations, and the union's advisory committees. The relevant congress motions are reproduced below.

Election results

Ballots to elect members to the democracy commission closed at noon on Friday 5 October 2018.   The results can be found below.   The scrutineer's report is available here. [215kb]

Further information

Congress and NEC emphasised the importance of involving as many members as possible in the work of the commission and the debate about the issues that it will be considering. The commission will hold its first meeting on Thursday 25 October 2018. 

The commission will elect its own chair and draw up a programme of work. The latter will include arrangements to ensure that the commission reports regularly to members and facilitates feedback from them as its work progresses.

Meanwhile, if branches, regions/devolved nations or individual members have any suggestions about the areas and issues on which the commission might focus, please feel free to email Paul Cottrell, UCU Head of Democratic Services.

Democracy Commission: results of ballots for seats for regional committees and devolved nations, and for branches

Democracy Commission: results of ballots for seats for regional committees and devolved nations, and for branches

Regional and devolved nation seats (one seat per region or devolved nation)

East Midlands (uncontested)
Alan Barker (University of Nottingham)

Eastern and Home Counties (uncontested)
Dr John Hogan (Anglia Ruskin University)

Keith Simpson (City, University of London)

North West (uncontested)
Nina Doran (City of Liverpool College)

Northern (uncontested)
Jeff Fowler (Sunderland University)

Northern Ireland (uncontested)
Lindesay Dawe (Ulster University)

Ann Gow (University of Glasgow)

Denis A Nicole (University of Southampton)

South East
No nominations received

South West (uncontested)
Alison Chapman (City College Plymouth)

Wales (uncontested)
Chris Jones (NPTC Group)

West Midlands
No nominations received

Yorkshire and Humberside (uncontested)
Geraint Evans (Bradford College)

Branch seats

Further education (8 seats; at least 4 to be filled by women)
Margot Hill (Croydon College, woman)
Martha Harris (City of Liverpool College [Arts and Mulberry], woman)
John James (Coleg Gwent [Newport])
Kerry Lemon (NCG - Newcastle College, woman)
Jacqueline D'Arcy (Warwickshire College Group, woman)
Rachel Minshull (Leeds City College, woman)
Justin Wynne (East Sussex College Group [Hastings])
Cecily Blyther (Petroc, woman)

Prison education (one seat) (uncontested)
Brian Hamilton (NOVUS Prison Education)

Adult and Continuing Educators (ACE) (one seat) (uncontested)
Naina Kent (Hackney Adult Education)

Higher education (12 seats; 6 pre-92, 6 post-92, at least 6 to be filled by women)
Saira Weiner (Liverpool John Moores University, post-92, woman)
Lesley McGorrigan (University of Leeds, pre-92, woman)
Rachel Cohen (City, University of London, pre-92, woman)
Jess Meacham (University of Sheffield, pre-92, woman)
Christina Paine (London Metropolitan University [City], post-92, woman)
Sean Wallis (University College London, pre-92)
Dr Caitlin Adams (Open University, pre-92, woman)
Pat Hornby Atkinson (Edge Hill University, post-92, woman)
Kirsty Keywood (University of Manchester, pre-92, woman)
Jane Harvey (University of Wolverhampton [Walsall], post-92, woman)
Mark Abel (University of Brighton [Grand Parade], post-92)
Dr Douglas Chalmers (Glasgow Caledonian University, post-92)

In addition, the following members have been elected by the relevant equality standing and employment special interest group committees to serve on the commission:

Anti-casualisation committee
Sam Morecroft (University of Sheffield)

Black members standing committee
Nita Sanghera (Bourneville College)

Disabled members standing committee
Elane Heffernan (Hackney Community College)

LGBT members standing committee
Martin Chivers (City, University of London)

Women members standing committee
Rhiannon Lockley (Halesowen College)


Congress motions on the commission

B19  Democracy Review

Congress notes:

  1. concerns from many branches and members about the processes behind the consultative ballot on the USS offer of 23rd March
  2. the lack of  inter-election mechanisms by which to recall or hold elected union representatives  to account.

Congress resolves:

  1. to undertake a review before Congress 2019 of UCU's democratic structures via a democracy commission
  2. that the commission should be elected by and from branches, regional committees, devolved nations and advisory committees of the union
  3. to empower the commission to recommend changes to UCU's democratic structures at  a one day special Congress, for discussion and voting on by branch delegates.

L9            Democracy Commission

Congress notes Congress 2018 has resolved to set up a Democracy Commission to review our democratic structures.

Congress resolves:

  1. that candidates for election to the commission must be nominated by their respective branches, regions or advisory committees
  2. that the commission must be elected and have held their first meeting by 31 October 2018
  3. regional committees, devolved nations, branches and advisory committees must be strongly encouraged to organise specific meetings to discuss the issues that are to be discussed by the commission
  4. the commission shall draw up recommendations to put to a one-day special Congress to discuss how our democratic structures should function and what they should look like.

Related documents

Election of Democracy Commission: nominations and ballot period
UCU893.html | UCU893.rtf

Election of Democracy Commission: call for nominations
UCU885.html | UCU885.rtf

Last updated: 11 October 2018