

HOUSE OF COMMONS

LONDON SW1A 0AA

Raj Jethwa Chief Executive Universities and Colleges Employers Association Woburn House Tavistock Square London WC1H 9HQ

Sent by email

02/05/2023

Dear Mr Jethwa,

We are writing to you on behalf of university staff up and down the UK to call on you to rethink your recommendation to higher education institutions that they cut between 50-100% of staff wages for taking part in a marking and assessment boycott.

Staff are the backbone of our universities and dedicate their working lives to supporting students, ensuring they can get the best out of their time studying. They deserve to be paid fairly and certainly do not deserve to have their pay docked, simply for taking lawful industrial action short of a strike.

As you well know, during this action university staff will still be continuing to perform most of their duties. This is because marking and assessing work is just one part of their day-to-day job. On this basis, there is no ethical justification for making such punitive deductions, especially during a cost-of-living crisis.

Equally, this behaviour does nothing for the reputation of the UK higher education sector or its standing on the world stage. As MPs and passionate supporters of the sector, we have a duty not only to raise these matters with you, but to also do so inside parliament.

We are urging you to urgently rethink your recommendation to higher education institutions which at present only threatens to push a resolution to this dispute further away.

We hope to receive a response as soon as possible confirming that the recommendation for these deductions no longer stands.

Yours sincerely,

Beth Winter MP

and 50 fellow parliamentarians



House of Commons London SW1A 0AA

Tahir Ali MP Mike Amesbury MP Apsana Begum MP Olivia Blake MP **Baroness Christine Blower Baroness Pauline Bryan Richard Burgon MP** Dawn Butler MP Ian Byrne MP Dan Carden MP Baroness Shami Chakrabarti Jeremy Corbyn MP Lord Bryn Davies **Geraint Davies MP** Mary Foy MP Margaret Greenwood MP Lord John Hendy Wera Hobhouse MP Kate Hollern MP Kim Johnson MP Ben Lake MP Ian Lavery MP **Clive Lewis MP** David Linden MP **Baroness Ruth Lister Rebecca Long-Bailey MP**

Tony Lloyd MP Caroline Lucas MP Andy McDonald MP John McDonnell MP Rachael Maskell MP Ian Mearns MP Grahame Morris MP **Charlotte Nichols MP Baroness Frances O'Grady** Kate Osamor MP Kate Osborne MP Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP Liz Saville-Roberts MP **Tommy Sheppard MP** Lord Prem Sikka Cat Smith MP Zarah Sultana MP Sam Tarry MP Claudia Webbe MP **Mick Whitley MP** Nadia Whittome MP Hywel Williams MP **Beth Winter MP** Lord Tony Woodley