

4th March 2013

UNIVERSITY AND COLLEGE UNION

NATIONAL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTIONS 2013

NEC SEATS IN THE HIGHER EDUCATION SECTOR

Our report of voting for the above elections, which closed at 12 noon on Friday 1st March 2013, is as follows:

The elections were conducted using the single transferable vote electoral system.

HE North West

Number of eligible voters:	7,259
Total number of votes cast:	857
Turnout:	11.8%
Number of votes found to be invalid/blank in	40
respect of this contest:	
Total number of valid votes to be counted:	817

Result (2 to elect)

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

WALDEN, Roger M McNEILL, Jo

HE Midlands

Number of eligible voters:	8,647
Total number of votes cast:	930
Turnout:	10.8%
Number of votes found to be invalid/blank in	61
respect of this contest:	
Total number of valid votes to be counted:	869

Result (2 to elect)

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

HULME, Patricia RYAN, Alan J





HE South

Number of eligible voters:	12,802
Total number of votes cast:	1,712
Turnout:	13.4%
Number of votes found to be invalid/blank in	77
respect of this contest:	
Total number of valid votes to be counted:	1,635

Result (3 to elect)

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

KANE, Lesley HOAD, Terry McMANUS, Patricia

UCU Scotland Honorary Secretary

Number of eligible voters:	6,172
Total number of votes cast:	808
Turnout:	13.1%
Number of votes found to be invalid/blank in	44
respect of this contest:	
Total number of valid votes to be counted:	764

Result (1 to elect)

The following candidate was elected:

LAMB, Angi

UCU Scotland President

The following candidate was elected unopposed:

ANDERSON, Dave

HE UK-Elected NEC Members

Number of eligible voters:	66,353
Total number of votes cast:	7,904
Turnout:	11.9%
Number of votes found to be invalid/blank in	504
respect of this contest:	
Total number of valid votes to be counted:	7,400





Result (8 to elect)

7 two year vacancies to include at least one post-92 and 1 one year vacancy.

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

HERSH, Marion
DONAGHEY, Jimmy
GLUZA, Joe
WATSON, Gordon
CHARLTON, Julia (Post-92)
WALLIS, Sean
KILLEN, Veronica (Post-92)
BLACKLEDGE, Paul (Post-92)*

*elected to the one year vacancy.

The result sheets for each election form the Appendices to this report and detail:-

- ♦ the quota required for election
- each candidate's voting figures, and
- the stages at which successful candidates were elected.

As Scrutineers appointed in accordance with Section 49 of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 (as amended), we are satisfied as to each of the matters specified in subsection 52(2) with regard to the election. The following points should be noted:

- a) The person appointed under section 51A to carry out the storage and counting of voting papers was Electoral Reform Services Limited.
- b) The person appointed under section 51A to carry out the distribution of voting papers was Electoral Reform Services Limited.
- c) A copy of the register of voters (as at the relevant date) was examined in accordance with section 49(3). The examination took place at our own instance and did not reveal any matter that should be brought to the attention of the trade union.

We would draw your attention to sections 52(4), 52(5), and 52(6). Section 52(4) requires that a copy of this report be published and made available to all members of the union within a three month period from today. This does not, however, mean that every member has to be notified individually.

Adrian Wilkins Senior Consultant

