

2nd March 2017

UNIVERSITY AND COLLEGE UNION

NATIONAL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTIONS 2017

TRUSTEES, VICE PRESIDENT, HONORARY TREASURER, REPRESENTATIVE OF LGBT MEMBERS

Our report of voting for the above elections, which closed at 12 noon on Wednesday 1st March 2017, is as follows:

The elections were conducted using the single transferable vote (STV) electoral system.

Trustees

Number of eligible voters:	101,497
Total number of votes cast:	13,880
Turnout:	13.7%
Number of votes found to be invalid/blank in	1,599
respect of this contest:	
Total number of valid votes to be counted:	12,281

Result (3 to elect)

The following candidates were elected:

MILES, Laura BURGESS, Philip HUNTER, Alastair

Vice President from the higher education sector

Number of eligible voters:	101,497
Total number of votes cast:	13,880
Turnout:	13.7%
Number of votes found to be invalid/blank in	1,130
respect of this contest:	
Total number of valid votes to be counted:	12,750

Result (1 to elect)

The following candidate was elected:

CHALMERS, Douglas



The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW Tel: 020 8365 8909 | Fax: 020 8365 8587 www.electoralreform.co.uk | enquiries@electoralreform.co.uk



Honorary Treasurer

Number of eligible voters:	101,497
Total number of votes cast:	13,880
Turnout:	13.7%
Number of votes found to be invalid/blank in	1,323
respect of this contest:	
Total number of valid votes to be counted:	12,557

Result (1 to elect)

The following candidate was elected:

SANGWINE, Steve

Representatives of disabled members

The following candidates were elected unopposed:

HEFFERNAN, Elane (FE, woman) PHILLIPS, Emma-Jane (HE, woman)

Representative of LGBT Members

Number of eligible voters:	101,497
Total number of votes cast:	13,880
Turnout:	13.7%
Number of votes found to be invalid/blank in	2,079
respect of this contest:	
Total number of valid votes to be counted:	11,801

Two to elect, one member from the HE sector and one member from the FE sector to be elected.

The following candidate was elected unopposed as the only FE candidate:

BOYCE, Steve (FE)

Result (1 to elect)

The following candidate was elected:

PROUT, Ryan (HE)

Representatives of black members

The following candidates were elected unopposed:

MURITU, Dave SANGHERA, Nita (woman)

The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW Tel: 020 8365 8909 | Fax: 020 8365 8587 www.electoralreform.co.uk | enquiries@electoralreform.co.uk





Representatives of casually employed members

The following candidates were elected unopposed:

JOWETT, Amy (FE) PAINE, Christina (HE)

Representative of members employed in prison education

The following candidate was elected unopposed:

HAMILTON, Brian

The result sheets for each election form the Appendices to this report. They detail:

- the quota required for election
- each candidate's voting figures, and
- the stages at which the successful candidates were elected.

As Scrutineers appointed in accordance with Section 49 of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 (as amended), we are satisfied as to each of the matters specified in subsection 52(2) with regard to the election. The following points should be noted:

- a) The person appointed under section 51A to carry out the storage and counting of voting papers was Electoral Reform Services Limited.
- b) The person appointed under section 51A to carry out the distribution of voting papers was Electoral Reform Services Limited.
- c) A copy of the register of voters (as at the relevant date) was examined in accordance with section 49(3). The examination took place at our own instance and did not reveal any matter that should be brought to the attention of the trade union.

We would draw your attention to sections 52(4), 52(5), and 52(6). Section 52(4) requires that a copy of this report be published and made available to all members of the union within a three month period from today. This does not, however, mean that every member has to be notified individually.

Adrian Wilkins Senior Consultant

The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW Tel: 020 8365 8909 | Fax: 020 8365 8587 www.electoralreform.co.uk | enquiries@electoralreform.co.uk

