USS national dispute committee

The UCU's National USS Dispute Committee  (NDC) was established and given its remit by motion H13 at the May 2018 Higher Education Sector Conference (HESC) and motion 11 at the June 2018 special HESC.

Its role is to 'give a representative steer' to the USS dispute for the current valuation round, including on any suspension of the dispute or re-ballot.

In particular the NDC is asked to approve any proposed ballot text on a future employer offer concerning USS before it is put to members.

UCU-appointed members of JEP and JNC are asked to report to the NDC.

It has 12 voting members, elected from regions and with representation from the BAME, women's, anti-casualisation and disabled standing committees  It will meet at regular intervals until the dispute is officially terminated

NDC minutes and papers will be available online on this page.

Information We welcome comments and suggestions from members through our shared mailbox:

Although we are not currently able to acknowledge every email received at this mailbox, please be assured that we will review all correspondence carefully.

Committee documents

USS NDC committee update, 14 Dec 18 [40kb]

NDC – Minutes of meeting 26 October 2018 [49kb]

USS NDC chair's speech to special conference, Nov 18 [57kb]

NDC – Minutes of inaugural meeting 5 October 2018 [554kb]

Report from the NDC to the Superannuation Working Group [164kb]


The members of the committee are:

Elected Members:

  • Bruce Baker (Northern)
  • Andrew Chitty (South East)
  • Karen Evans (North West)
  • Deepa Govindarajan Driver (South
  • Jo Grady (Yorkshire and Humberside)
  • Susanne Hakenbeck (Eastern and Home Counties)
  • Gholam Khiabany (London)
  • Linda Moore (Northern Ireland),
  • Rebecca Richards (West Midlands)
  • Tim Wilson (Scotland)

Standing Committees

  • Sue Abbott (Women Members)
  • Blaise Nkwenti-Azeh (Black Members)
  • Themesa Neckles (Disabled Members)
  • Sam Morecroft (Anti-casualisation)  


Douglas Chalmers (President-elect)

Committee secretary: Paul Bridge, UCU Head of Higher Education

Last updated: 21 January 2019