National executive committee

The national executive committee, or NEC, is responsible for conducting the union's business between congress meetings.

Elected by UCU members, the NEC includes HE and FE members, some of whom are elected regionally, some on a UK-wide basis, plus equality seats and officers of the union.

NEC members 2015-16                   

For sub-committee members, please see the relevant sub-committee page.

Elected positionName and institution
PresidentLiz Lawrence
Sheffield Hallam University
President electRob Goodfellow
Hull College
Vice presidentJoanna de Groot
University of York
Honorary treasurerAngela Roger
University of Dundee
FE - London and eastRichard McEwan
Tower Hamlets College
FE - London and eastRose Veitch
Hackney Community College
FE - MidlandsJacqueline D'Arcy
Warwickshire College
FE - MidlandsSimon Bruce-Jones
Telford College of Arts and Technology
FE - North EastCath Hepburn
Sunderland College
FE - North EastLee Short
Barnsley College
FE - North WestNina Doran
City of Liverpool College
FE - Northern IrelandMonica Goligher
Belfast Metropolitan College
FE - SouthMick Dawson
Brooklands College
FE - SouthSteve Allen
City College Plymouth
FE - Wales 
(Vice president UCU Wales)
Chris Jones
Neath Port Talbot College
FE UK-electedBrian Hamilton
The Manchester College Prison Education 
FE UK-electedAlan Barker
New College Nottingham
FE UK-electedMandy Brown 
Lambeth College
FE UK-electedMargot Hill
Croydon College
FE UK-electedJim Thakoordin
Luton & Bedfordshire ACE
FE UK-electedJenny Prideaux
Sheffield College
HE - London and EastIoanna Ioannou
University College London
HE - London and EastSean Wallis
University College London
HE - London and EastSteve Sangwine
University of Essex
HE - London and EastSusan Michie
University College London
HE - MidlandsXanthe Whittaker
University of Leicester
HE - MidlandsAlan Ryan
De Montfort University
HE - North EastPaul Blackledge
Leeds Metropolitan University
HE - North EastMartin Levy
Northumbria University
HE - North EastTerry Murphy
Teesside University
HE - North WestJo McNeill
University of Liverpool
HE - North WestMichael McKrell
University of Central Lancashire
HE - Northern IrelandMike Larkin
Queen's University Belfast
HE - Scotland
(Honorary secretary UCU Scotland)
Janice Aitken
University of Dundee
HE - Scotland
(President UCU Scotland)
Douglas Chalmers
Glasgow Caledonian University
HE - SouthPauline Collins
Open University
HE - SouthBruce Heil
Open University
HE - SouthPatricia McManus
University of Brighton
HE - Wales
(President UCU Wales)
Chris Whyley
Swansea University
HE UK-electedCarlo Morelli
University of Dundee
HE UK-electedHarriet Bradley
University of Bristol
HE UK-electedRoger Brooks
University of Liverpool
HE UK-electedDave Anderson
University of Glasgow
HE UK-electedMarion Hersh
University of Glasgow
HE UK-electedKaren Evans
University of Liverpool
HE UK-electedDominique Lauterburg
Manchester Metropolitan University
HE UK-electedJulia Charlton
Northumbria University
HE UK-electedAndreas Bieler
University of Nottingham
HE UK-elected
Lesley McGorrigan
University of Leeds
HE UK-electedTodd Bailey
Cardiff University
Equality - blackDave Muritu
Sandwell College
Equality - blackDawn Livingston
Lewisham Southwark College
Equality - disabled (FE)vacancy
Equality - disabled (HE)Emma-Jane Phillips
Northumbria University
Equality - LGBT (FE)Steve Boyce
Equality - LGBT (HE)Mary Jennings
University of Cambridge
Equality - women FESue Whittaker
Hull College
Equality - women FEVicky Knight
The Manchester College
Equality - women in HESue Abbott
Northumbria University
Equality - women in HE
Pat Hornby Atkinson
Edge Hill University
Equality - women in HESaira Weiner
Liverpool John Moores University
Rep casually employed members (FE)Amy Jowett
Hackney ACE
Rep casually employed members (HE)Vicky Blake
University of Leeds


Last updated: 2 March 2016