Fighting fund banner


Congress vote

Annual congress & sector conference

6 February 2017

UCU's supreme policy-making body of the union is its annual congress. Congress includes separate annual meetings of UCU's further and higher education sector conferences, where policy particular to these areas is decided.

In addition, special sector conferences are sometimes called between the annual congress meetings in order to pass policy on specific urgent matters.

Coming up:



Branch and local association representation at both the annual congress and any special sector conference is based on member numbers, with smaller branches forming an aggregation which has the right to send a delegate:

Members of the Congress business committee 2023-24

From FE:

Chris Jones (NPTC Group)
Julie Milner (Trafford College Group) (vice-chair)
Saleem Rashid (The Sheffield College)
Hazel Raven (Doncaster College)

From HE:

Alan Barker (University of Nottingham) (chair)
Sylvia de Mars (Newcastle University)
Dyfrig Jones (Bangor University)
Adam Ozanne (University of Manchester)

UCU in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland also have annual conferences in order to pass policy on specific national issues.

Last updated: 21 May 2024