Fighting fund banner


Strike ballots over pay open in colleges and universities

29 August 2018

UCU members in 110 colleges in England and 147 UK universities are being balloted for strike action in a row over pay. The ballots open on Thursday 30 August and close on Friday 19 October.

The dispute in universities has arisen after the universities' representatives, the Universities and Colleges' Employers Association (UCEA, made a final offer of 2% at the final pay talks in May. UCU said the offer does nothing to address the falling value of higher education pay, which has declined in real terms by 21% since 2009.

Meanwhile college staff have seen their pay decline by 25% over the last decade. Earlier this week the Association of Colleges revealed its request for extra funding had failed. The union said colleges would have been foolish to rely solely on a government plea to meet staff pay expectations and must find the money from elsewhere.

UCU general secretary, Sally Hunt, said: 'Staff working in our colleges and universities have had enough of seeing their wages held down while some principals and vice-chancellors pocket double digit pay rises and max out expense accounts. The pay offers do nothing to address years of decline in the value of our members' pay and have left us with no option but to ballot for strike action.'

List of colleges
Bournville College of FE
Bracknell and Wokingham College
Bradford College
Bridgwater and Taunton College
Brockenhurst College
Brooklands College
Brooksby Melton College
Buckinghamshire College Group
Bury College
Chesterfield College
City College Plymouth
City Lit
City of Bristol College
City of Liverpool College
City of Wolverhampton College
Cleveland College of Art and Design
Colchester Institute College
Cornwall College
Coventry College
Darlington College
Derby College
Derwentside College
DN Colleges Group
Dudley College
Ealing, Hammersmith & West London College
East Durham College
East Kent Colleges Group
East Riding College
East Sussex College Group
Exeter College
Farnborough College of Technology
Gloucestershire College
Greater Brighton Metropolitan College
The Guildford College Group
Hadlow College Group
Halesowen College
Harlow College
Hartlepool College
Havant and South Downs College
Havering College
HCUC, Harrow College & Uxbridge College
Heart of Worcestershire College
Herefordshire and Ludlow College
Herefordshire College of Art
Hopwood Hall College
Hugh Baird College
Isle of Wight College
Kendal College
Kensington & Chelsea College
Lakes College West Cumbria
Lancaster & Morecambe College
Leeds City College
Leicester College
Lincoln College
London South East Colleges
MidKent College
Morley College
Moulton College
New City College Group
New College Durham
New College Stamford
New College Swindon
Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group
North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College
Northampton College
Nottingham College
Oldham College
Plumpton College
Richmond Upon Thames College
Solihull College & University Centre
South & City College Birmingham
South Devon College
South Essex College
South Gloucestershire and Stroud College
South Thames College Group
Southport College
St Helen College Group
Stanmore College
Stephenson College
Stockton Riverside College
Swindon College
Tameside College
The Trafford College Group
Truro & Penwith College
United Colleges Group,
Walsall College
Warrington & Vale Royal College
Warwickshire College Group
West Thames College
Weymouth College
Wigan & Leigh College
Wiltshire College
Strode College
Wirral Metropolitan College
Working Mens College, The
Yeovil College

List of universities
University of Aberdeen
Abertay University
Aberystwyth University
Anglia Ruskin University
University of the Arts London
Arts University Bournemouth
Aston University
Bangor University
University of Bath
Bath Spa University
University of Bedfordshire
Birkbeck, University of London
University of Birmingham
Bishop Grosseteste University
University of Bolton
Bournemouth University
University of Bradford
University of Brighton
University of Bristol
Brunel University London
Buckinghamshire New University
University of Cambridge
Canterbury Christ Church University
Cardiff Metropolitan University
Cardiff University
University of Central Lancashire
University of Chester
University of Chichester
City, University of London
Courtauld Institute of Art
Coventry University
University of Cumbria
De Montfort University
University of Derby
University of Dundee
Durham University
University of East Anglia
University of East London
Edge Hill University
University of Edinburgh
Edinburgh Napier University
University of Essex
University of Exeter
Falmouth University
University of Glasgow
Glasgow Caledonian University
Glasgow School of Art
University of Gloucestershire
Glynd┼Ár University
Goldsmiths, University of London
University of Greenwich
Harper Adams University
Heriot-Watt University
University of Hertfordshire
University of Huddersfield
University of Hull
Keele University
University of Kent
King's College London
Kingston University London
Lancaster University
University of Leeds
Leeds Beckett University
Leeds Arts University
Leeds Trinity University
University of Leicester
University of Lincoln
University of Liverpool
Liverpool Hope University
Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts
Liverpool John Moores University
Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
London Metropolitan University
London School of Economics & Political Science
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
London South Bank University
University of London (Senate)
Loughborough University
University of Manchester
Manchester Metropolitan University
Middlesex University
Newcastle University
Newman University
University of Northampton
Northumbria University
Norwich University of the Arts
University of Nottingham
Nottingham Trent University
Open University
University of Oxford
Oxford Brookes University
Plymouth University
University of Portsmouth
Queen Margaret University
Queen Mary University of London
Queen's University Belfast
University of Reading
Robert Gordon University
University of Roehampton
Rose Bruford College
Royal Academy of Music
Royal Agricultural University
The Royal Central School of Speech & Drama
Royal College of Art
Royal College of Music
Royal Holloway, University of London
Royal Northern College of Music
Royal Veterinary College
University of Salford
University of Sheffield
Sheffield Hallam University
SOAS, University of London
University of Southampton
Southampton Solent University
University of South Wales
University of St Andrews
St George's University of London
St Mary's University College, Belfast
St Mary's University, Twickenham
Staffordshire University
University of Stirling
University of St Mark & St John
Stranmillis University College
University of Strathclyde
University of Suffolk
University of Sunderland
University of Surrey
University of Sussex
Swansea University
Teesside University
Trinity Laban
Ulster University
University College Birmingham
University College London
University for the Creative Arts
University of Wales - Registry
University of Wales Trinity Saint David
University of Warwick
University of West London
University of the West of England
University of the West of Scotland
University of Westminster
University of Winchester
University of Wolverhampton
University of Worcester
University of York
York St John University

Last updated: 17 September 2018