Fighting fund banner


Can I be a member of more than one union?

Post-school education employs a wide range of diverse specialist staff. That is why UCU has joint membership agreements with unions that represent a variety of health professionals, as well as broadcasters, journalists and musicians. All of our joint memberships are designed to offer all the benefits of belonging to two unions but for less than the cost of the combined full subscription rates.

Members will need to be eligible for membership of both organisations in order to qualify for joint membership.

Joint agreements are currently held with the following:

Royal College of Occupational Therapists (RCOT, formerly BAOT)

Broadcasting, Entertainment, Cinematograph & Theatre Union (BECTU)

British Orthoptic Society (BOS)

Chartered Society of Physiotherapists (CSP)

Musicians' Union (MU)

National Union of Journalists (NUJ)

Royal College of Midwives (RCM)

Royal College of Nursing (RCN)

Society of Chiropodists and Podiatrists (SCP)

Society of Radiographers (SOR)

See joint union memberships for further information.

Back to Joining UCU FAQs