Covid-19 (coronavirus): UCU has produced advice for members. Find more information and updates here.

UCU officer and national executive committee elections in 2020-21

Ballots to elect honorary treasurer and national executive committee members closed at noon on Tuesday 2 March 2021.  It is expected that the results will be announced on Monday 8 March and will be posted on this web page.

To be sent information in large print or other formats, or for further information about these elections, contact Kay Metcalfe or Catherine Wilkinson.

More information about voting in these elections - including the effect of candidates standing in more than one election and the single transferable vote system (STV), can be found here.

Officer and NEC elections 2021: election addresses

Election addresses can be seen by clicking on the name of the candidate.  Candidates' names appear in a random order drawn by the scrutineer, Civica Election Services.

Honorary treasurer (1 seat)
Professor Paul Anderson (Queen Mary University of London)
Dr Steve Sangwine (University of Essex)
Stephen Albert Desmond (Solent University)

Geographically-elected members of the National Executive Committee

Midlands HE (3 seats)
Dr Chris Grocott (University of Leicester)
Rhiannon Lockley (Birmingham City University)
Alan Barker (University of Nottingham)
Teresa Forde (University of Derby)
Dr Emma Battell Lowman (University of Leicester)
David Harvie (University of Leicester)

Midlands FE (1 seat)
Dharminder Chuhan (Sandwell College)
John Paul Sullivan (Warwickshire College Group)

North West HE (2 seats)
Bijan Parsia (University of Manchester)
Saira Weiner (Liverpool John Moores University)
Philippa Browning (University of Manchester)
Julie Wilkinson (Manchester Metropolitan University)
Sunil Banga (Lancaster University)

North West FE (1 seat - uncontested)
Helen Kelsall (The Trafford College Group)

South HE (4 seats to include at least one woman)
Sally Pellow (University of Reading)[woman]
Dr David Hitchcock (Canterbury Christ Church University)
Stephen Albert Desmond (Solent University)
Michael Carley (University of Bath)
Mark Abel (University of Brighton)
Richard Bradbury (Open University)
Dr Peter Wood (Open University)
Aris Katzourakis (University of Oxford)
Dr Deepa Govindarajan Driver (University of Reading)[woman]

South FE (2 seats)
Alison Chapman (City College Plymouth)
Stewart Fraser (New College Swindon)
Philip Wilson (Chichester College Group)

Scotland HE - UCU Scotland President 
Dr Chris O'Donnell (University of the West of Scotland)
Lena WÃ¥nggren (University of Edinburgh)

Scotland HE - UCU Scotland Honorary Secretary
Dr Eurig Scandrett (Queen Margaret University)
Ann Swinney (University of Dundee)
Dr Chris O'Donnell (University of the West of Scotland)


Wales FE (and vice presidentUCU Wales) (1 seat - uncontested)
John James (Coleg Gwent Newport)

UK-elected members HE (4 seats; to include at least one post-92, one academic related)
Dr Rohit K Dasgupta (Loughborough University)
Dr Chris O'Donnell (University of the West of Scotland)[post-92]
Sally Pellow (University of Reading)[academic-related]
Michael Carley (University of Bath)
Bijan Parsia (University of Manchester)
Dr Emma Battell Lowman (University of Leicester)
David Harvie (University of Leicester)
Eric R Lybeck (University of Manchester)
Shereen Benjamin (University of Edinburgh)
Grant Buttars (University of Edinburgh)[academic-related]
Lesley McGorrigan (University of Leeds)[academic-related]
Michael McKrell (University of Central Lancashire[post-92]
Andrew Feeney (Northumbria University)[post-92]
Dr Marion Hersh (University of Glasgow)
Dr Chris Grocott (University of Leicester)
Dr Peter Wood (Open University)
Gareth Brown (University of Leicester)
Nicholas Chancellor (Durham University)
Anthony O'Hanlon (University of Liverpool)[academic-related]
Stephen Albert Desmond (Solent University)
Sunil Banga (Lancaster University)
Maria Chondrogianni (University of Westminster)[post-92]
Dr John Hogan (Anglia Ruskin University)[post-92]

UK-elected members FE (2 seats)
Saleem Rashid (The Sheffield College)
Jacqueline D'Arcy (Warwickshire College Group)
Margot Hill (Croydon College)

Representative of disabled members (1 seat; ballot to elect one HE representative. Seat for FE representative unfilled.)
Jane Charlesworth (University of Warwick)
Marian Mayer (Bournemouth University)

Representatives of LGBT+ members (2 seats; one HE and one FE member to be elected)
Peter Evans (South Thames College) will be declared elected as the only FE candidate; ballot for one HE representative.
Shereen Benjamin (University of Edinburgh)
Bee Hughes (Liverpool John Moores University)
Ryan Prout (Cardiff University)
Mark Pendleton (University of Sheffield)

Representatives of black members (2 seats; at least one woman to be elected)
Dr Victoria Showunmi (University College London)[woman]
Juliana Ojinnaka (The Sheffield College)[woman]
Dr Deepa Govindarajan Driver (University of Reading)[woman]

Representatives of migrant members (2 seats, at least one non-EU member - uncontested)
One seat remains unfilled
Robyn Orfitelli (University of Sheffield) [non-EU]

Representatives of casually employed members (2 seats; one HE member and one FE member to be elected - uncontested)
Cecily Blyther (Petroc) will be declared elected as the only FE candidate; ballot for one HE representative.
Sam Morecroft (University of Sheffield International College)
Ben Pope (University of Manchester)

Christina Paine's nomination for the position of representative of casually employed members has been withdrawn. Ballots are counted by STV. If votes are cast for Christina Paine (whose withdrawal came after ballot papers were dispatched), the next preference expressed by the voter will be counted instead.

Representative of members in land-based education (1 seat - unfilled)
No nominations received

Representative of members in prison education (1 seat - uncontested)
Brian Hamilton (Novus prison education branch)

Election documents:

Election guidance notes [96kb]
Election rules [256kb]

Last updated: 2 March 2021