Fighting fund banner


UCU national officer and national executive committee elections 2017

5 October 2017

NEC casual vacancy (FE North East): ballot result

The ballots to elect UCU trustees, vice-president from the higher education sector,  honorary treasurer and NEC members (including the NEC casual vacancy, FE North East) closed at noon on 1 March.

Trustee, officer and NEC election results

The results of the trustee, officer and NEC elections have now been declared and are available below.  The terms of office for these positions begin on 29 May 2017, with the exception of the North East FE casual vacancy which begins on 24 April 2017.  The scrutineer's reports are available here:

Scrutineer's report national seats [50kb]
Scrutineer's report FE seats [49kb]
Scrutineer's report HE seats [49kb]

To be sent information in hard copy, including large print or other formats, or for further information about these elections, contact Kay Metcalfe at UCU's head office (tel: 020 7756 2551).

Trustee, officer and NEC elections 2017: results

The following candidates have been declared elected:

Trustees (3 seats)

Laura Miles (Bradford College)

Philip Burgess (Scottish Retired Members)

Alastair Hunter (Scottish Retired Members)

  count sheet Trustees [68kb]

Vice President from the higher education sector

Dr Douglas Chalmers (Glasgow Caledonian University)

  count sheet Vice President [48kb]

Honorary Treasurer

Dr Steve Sangwine (University of Essex)

count sheet Honorary Treasurer [49kb]

Geographically-elected members of the National Executive Committee


North West HE (2 seats - uncontested)

Pat Hornby Atkinson (Edge Hill University)

Dr Adam Ozanne (University of Manchester)


North West FE (1 seat)



Midlands HE (2 seats)

Dr Justine Mercer (University of Warwick)

David Ridley (Coventry University)

‚Äč  count sheet Midlands HE seats [56kb]

Midlands FE (2 seats)

John Paul Sullivan (Warwickshire College Group)

Rhiannon Lockley (Halesowen College)

  count sheet Midlands FE seats [58kb]

South HE (3 seats)

Pauline Collins (Open University)

Denis A Nicole (University of Southampton)

Lesley Kane (Open University)

count sheet South HE seats [70kb]

South FE (2 seats - uncontested)

Alison Chapman (City College Plymouth)

Justin Wynne (Sussex Coast College Hastings)


Wales FE (and vice president UCU Wales) (1 seat - uncontested)

Chris Jones (Neath Port Talbot Group)



Honorary Secretary UCU Scotland (1 seat)



President UCU Scotland (1 seat - uncontested)

Ann Gow (University of Glasgow)


UK-elected members HE (4 seats: to include at least one post-92 and one woman)

Julia Charlton (Northumbria University) (post-92, woman)

Dominique Lauterburg (Manchester Metropolitan University) (post-92, woman)

Vicky Blake (University of Leeds) (woman)

Carlo Morelli (University of Dundee)

  count sheet HE UK-elected seats [96kb]

UK-elected members FE (2 seats)

Anya Cook (Newcastle College)

Mandy Brown (Lambeth College)

  count sheet FE UK-elected seats [63kb]

Representatives of black members (2 seats; one woman to be elected - uncontested)

Dave Muritu (Sandwell College)

Nita Sanghera (Bournville College) (woman)


Representatives of disabled members (2 seats; one HE member and one FE member to be elected to include at least one woman - uncontested)

Elane Heffernan (Hackney Community College) (FE, woman)

Emma-Jane Phillips (Northumbria University) (HE, woman)


Representatives of LGBT members (2 seats; one HE and one FE member to be elected)

Ryan Prout (Cardiff University) (HE)

Steve Boyce (PeoplePlus Prison Education) (FE) (elected unopposed as the only FE candidate)

  count sheet representative of LGBT members [50kb]

Seats for casually employed members (2 seats; one HE member and one FE member to be elected - uncontested)

Amy Jowett (Hackney ACE) (FE)

Christina Paine (London Metropolitan University) (HE)


Representative of members employed in land-based education (1 seat)



Representative of members employed in prison education (1 seat - uncontested)

Brian Hamilton (Novus Prison Education)


Documents relevant to all elections

Last updated: 30 January 2020